Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Department of English People

 

AebersoldAndrea

Andrea Aebersold

Clinical Assistant Professor
509-372-7390
WSU-Tri-Cities
CIC 202K
andrea_campbell@tricity.wsu.edu

AebersoldSimon

Simon Aebersold

Clinical Assistant Professor
Director of Writing and Tutoring Centers
509-372-7342
WSU-Tri-Cities
CIC Library 201AE
simon.aebersold@tricity.wsu.edu

WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Suzanne Anderson

Instructor
Research Interests: 
Digital Animation, Narration and Production
WSU-Pullman
suzander@mail.wsu.edu

Kristen Arola

 

 

Kristin Arola

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Research Interests: Rhetorics of New Media and Design
-Composition Pedagogy
, Multimedia Authoring
, Digital Technology and Culture, Feminist Theory
WSU-Pullman
arola@wsu.edu

WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Aminah Barnes Cannon

Instructor
WSU-Pullman
a.barnescannon@gmail.com

kristinbecker

Kristin Becker

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Web Design
WSU-Pullman
k.e.carlson@gmail.com

Nancy Bell

Nancy Bell

Associate Professor
Research Interests:Applied Linguistics
, ESL
, TESOL
WSU-Pullman
nbell@wsu.edu

Ashley Boyd

Ashley Boyd

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: English Education, Critical Theory
WSU-Pullman
Ashley.boyd@wsu.edu

Kim burwick

Kimberly Burwick

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 
Humanities
, Creative Writing
WSU-Pullman
kaburwick@wsu.edu

Todd Butler

Todd Butler

Associate Professor and Chair
Research Interests: 
17th Century Literature
, Law and Literature
, Political Epistemology
, Marriage of Knowledge and Power in the Renaissance
WSU-Pullman
butlert@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Beth Buyserie

Clinical Assistant Professor and Assistant Director of Composition
Research Interests:Freshman Composition
, Beginning Research Writing
, English Education Methods
, Professional and Technical Writing
WSU-Pullman
bbuyserie@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Patricia Cady

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
, Professional and Technical Writing
WSU-Pullman
patty.cady@wsu.edu

Donna Campbell

Donna Campbell

Associate Professor and Vice Chair
Research Interests:
 Nineteenth-Century and Early Twentieth-Century American Literature
-Realism, Regionalism, and Naturalism
-American Women’s Writing
-Teaching with Technology
WSU-Pullman
campbelld@wsu.edu

Peter Chilson

Peter Chilson

Professor
Research Interests: Writing Workshops in Fiction and Literary Nonfiction
, African Literature
, Borderlands Studies
, Form and Theory in Writing Fiction and Literary Nonfiction
, Magazine Editing
, Environmental Issues Regarding Africa and the American West
WSU-Pullman
pchilson@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Elijah Coleman

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
, Writing and Rhetorical Conventions
, Technical and Professional Writing
WSU-Pullman
coleelij@wsu.edu

Bill Condon

Bill Condon

Professor
Research Interests: Writing Assessment
, Composition Pedagogy
, World Civilizations
, 19th Century British Literature
, Computers and Writing
WSU-Pullman
bcondon@wsu.edu

 CozzaVanessa

Vanessa Cozza

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 
Rhetoric and Composition
WSU-Tri-Cities
vanessa.cozza@tricity.wsu.edu

Micheal Delahoyde

Michael Delahoyde

Clinical Professor
Research Interests: Shakespeare
, Chaucer
, Medieval, Renaissance
, Humanities
WSU-Pullman
delahoyd@wsu.edu

 roberteddy

Robert Eddy

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Rhetoric and Racism
, Malcolm X and the Renaming of the U.S.A.
, Islamophobia and Rhetoric’s of the less than Human
, Prison Writing and Restorative Justice
, Robotic Rhetorics and the Politics of the Post-Human
WSU-Pullman
eddyr@wsu.edu

 mikeedawrs

Mike Edwards

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Rhetoric and composition, Digital Rhetorics, Technology Studies, Economics and Composition
WSU-Pullman
mike.edwards@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Katherine Ericsson

Instructor
Research Interests: Technical and Professional Writing
, Multimedia Authoring
WSU-Global Campus
kericsson@wsu.edu

Patricia Ericson

Patricia Ericsson

Associate Professor and Director of Composition
Research Interests: Digital Rhetorics
, Composition Studies
, Digital Technology and Culture
, Critical Technology Studies
, Technical Communication
, Rhetorics of Sustainability
WSU-Pullman
ericsson@wsu.edu

Bryan Fry

Bryan Fry

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Creative Writing
, Editing and Publishing
, Writing and Research Honors
WSU-Pullman
bryanfry@wsu.edu

 goodrihc

Rebecca Goodrich

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Literary Nonfiction, Personal Essay
, Comics and Graphic Novels
, Children’s and Young Adult Literature
, Digital Storytelling
WSU-Pullman
rgoodrich@wsu.edu

Lynn Gordon

Lynn Gordon

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Linguistics
, English Grammar
, History of English
, Syntax
, Syntax and Morphology of Native American Languages
WSU-Pullman
gordonl@wsu.edu

WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Sallie Gowdy-Burke

Instructor
Research Interests:
WSU-Pullman
tomie@wsu.edu

 Dene Grigar

Dene Grigar

Professor
Research Interests: Multimedia Narrative Performance and Installations
, Ephemeral Writing and Technologies
, Electronic Literature
WSU-Vancouver
dgrigar@vancouver.wsu.edu

Will Hamlin

William Hamlin

Professor
Research Interests: Shakespeare
, English and Continental Literature, 1500-1700
-Renaissance Drama
, Montaigne
-Histories of Early Modern Philosophy and Religion
WSU-Pullman
whamlin@wsu.edu

Micheal Hanly

Michael Hanly

Professor
Research Interests: Medieval Literature and Culture
, Humanities
, Textual Editing
, Paleography
, Graduate Research
WSU-Pullman
hanly@wsu.edu

Jon Hegglund

Jon Hegglund

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 20th Century British Literature
, Film Studies
, Literary Theory
, Postcolonial Literature
WSU-Pullman
hegglund@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Desiree Hellegers

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Civil Liberties, Environmental Literature and Eco-criticism, Gender , Homelessness and Poverty, Seventeenth century English Literature , Shakespeare , Social Movements, Twentieth and Twenty First Century 
American Literature
WSU-Vancouver
desiree.hellegers@vancouver.wsu.edu

  leannhunter

Leeann Hunter

Clinical Assistant Professor and Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests:
WSU-Pullman
leeann.hunter@wsu.edu

 

Wendy Dasler Johnson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: ‘Other’ Rhetorics
, History of Rhetoric
, American Literature before 1900
, Rhetorics of the Disciplines
, Sacred Texts and Cultures of World Religions
, Writing
, American Indian Literatures
, Women Studies
-Poetry
WSU-Vancouver
wjohnson1@vancouver.wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Lisa Johnson-Shull

Writing Center Director/Writing Program Co-Director/Instructor
Research Interests: Writing Center Theory and Practice
, Writing Program Administration
, Writing Pedagogy and Assessment
WSU-Pullman
lisaj@wsu.edu

 jefkuure

Jeff Kuure

Clinical Assistant Professor

WSU-Pullman
jlkuure@wsu.edu

Debbie Lee

Debbie Lee

Professor
Research Interests: 18th and 19th-Century British Literature
, 18th and 19th-Century Visual Cultures; Art History and Printmaking
, William Hogarth and William Blake
, British Social History (Representations of Single Mothers, Prostitutes, and Poor Women)
, History of Science
, Transatlantic Issues (Slavery, Hybridity)
, Travel Literature
, Creative Nonfiction
WSU-Pullman
deblee@wsu.edu

Buddy Levy

Buddy Levy

Clinical Professor
Research Interests: Technical & Professional Writing
, Creative Writing, All Genres
, American Indian Literature
, Adventure/Lifestyle/Journalism
WSU-Pullman
buddy@buddylevy.com

Thabiti Lewis

Thabiti Lewis

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 20th Century African American Literature
, Toni Cade Bambara
, Critical Race Theory
, Sport Culture
, Black Masculinity Studies
WSU-Vancouver
thabiti@vancouver.wsu.edu

Kirk Mcauley

Kirk McAuley

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests: Eighteenth-Century Studies, Early American and British Literature and Culture (Including Poetry and Non-Fiction Prose) to 1900
, Transatlantic Studies
, Print Culture
, Travel and Empire Writing
, Gender
, Environmental Criticism
WSU-Pullman
lmcauley@wsu.edu

 

Pavithra Narayanan

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Film
, Globalization
, Gender Issues, Political Economy
, South Asian Feminism; Post colonial Literature
, Documentary Films
WSU-Vancouver
pavithra@vancouver.wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Aaron Oforlea

Associate Professor
Research Interests: African American Literature
, 20th-Century American Literature
, African American Intellectual Traditions and Literary Theory
, African American Folklore
, African American Rhetoric
, Literacy Studies
WSU-Pullman
aoforlea@ad.wsu.edu

Wendy Olson

Wendy Olson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Basic Writing
, Critical Literacy
, Political Economy
, History and Theory of Composition
, History and Theory of Rhetoric
WSU-Vancouver
wmolson@vancouver.wsu.edu

 

Leonard Orr

Professor
Research Interests: 
19th & 20th Century British, Irish, and American Literature, Critical Theory and History of Criticism
-Modernism
, Representations of the Holocaust
, Postcolonial and Literature of Exile
, Creative Writing: Poetry
WSU-Vancouver
orr@vancouver.wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Mary Ellen Pastor

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU-Pullman

mpastor@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Anna Plemmons Blackburn

Instructor and CAS CLASP Director
WSU-Pullman
anna.plemons@wsu.edu

 Potts 2016

Donna Potts

Professor
Research Interests:
WSU-Pullman
donnal.potts@gmail.com

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Laura Powers

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU-Pullman
laura.powers@wsu.edu

TV Reed

T.V. Reed

Professor
Research Interests: Contemporary U.S.
, Literary Theory
, Popular Culture
, Digital Diversity
, Multiethnic Contemporary American Literature
, Ecocriticism
WSU-Pullman
reedtv@wsu.edu

 

Kandy S. Robertson

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Writing Programs
Research Interests: Writing and Research
, Introduction to English Studies
WSU-Vancouver
kandy_robertson@vancouver.wsu.edu

Susan Ross

Susan Ross

Professor
Research Interests: Journalism
, International Mass Media
, Law
, Public Policy
-Economics
, Cultural Studies
, Social Movements
, Peace Studies
WSU-Pullman
suross@wsu.edu

Linda Russo

Linda Russo

Clinical Associate Professor
Research Interests: Ecopoetics, Geopoetics, Environmental Humanities, Literary Histories, Materialities, and Geographies
WSU-Pullman
lrusso@wsu.edu

 

Rachel Sanchez

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU-Pullman
rachel_sanchez@wsu.edu

Carol Siegel

Carol Siegel

Professor
Research Interests: Representation of Sexuality in Literature and Film
, Contemporary Youth Cultures
, Changes in the Discourses of Feminism
, Theories of Foucault, Deleuze & Other Theorists of Sexuality & Gender
, Asian American Literature
WSU-Vancouver
siegel@vancouver.wsu.edu

Elizabeth Siler

Elizabeth Siler

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: English as a Second Language
, Second Language Reading
, Studies on Paraphrase and Plagiarism
WSU-Pullman
elizabethsiler@gmail.com

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

April Strawn

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU-Pullman
april.strawn@wsu.edu

Victor Villanueva

Victor Villanueva

Regents Professor and Director of the Writing Program
Research Interests: Classical and Contemporary Rhetoric
, Rhetoric and Political Economy
, Rhetoric and Racism
, Pre-Columbian Indigenous Rhetorics
, Composition Theory
WSU-Pullman
victorv@wsu.edu

 katewatts

Kate Watts

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU-Pullman
kate.watts@wsu.edu

Roger Whitson

Roger Whitson

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 19th C British Literature, esp. William Blake
, Digital Humanities
, Digital and Hybrid Pedagogy
, Steampunk
, Comics and Graphic Novels
, Speculative Realism and Object, Oriented Ontology
, Media History and Archaeology
WSU-Pullman
roger.whitson@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Owen Williams

Instructor
WSU-Pullman
Owenengl101@gmail.com

Kim Christensen

Kimberly Christen Withey

Associate Professor and Director of Digital Technology and Culture
Research Interests: 
Open Access
, Digital Technologies
, Cultural Heritage Management
, Sovereignty
WSU-Pullman
kachristen@wsu.edu

WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Stacy Wittstock

Instructor
Research Interests:
Stacy.wittstock@wsu.edu

Emeritus Professors

 

 Joan Burbick

Joan Burbick

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 
American literature and culture (especially late 19th and 20th century)
, Cultural theory
, Popular Culture
burbick@wsu.edu

George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Professor Emeritus:

Research Interests: Technical Communication
, Rhetoric/Composition
, 19th century British fiction (Victorians)
, Early 20th Century British (Edwardians and Georgians)
gkennedy@wsu.edu

 Alex Kuo

Alex Kuo

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Contemporary Poetry
, Creative Writing (All Genres)
, Native American Literature; American West Literature
alexkuo@wsu.edu

Richard Law

Richard Law

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 20th Century American Literature
, Literature of the American South
rlaw@wsu.edu

Barbara Monroe

Barbara Monroe

Associate Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Indigenous Rhetoric of the Plateau Indians
, Cultural and Class Differences in Rhetoric, Learning Styles, and Interactive Patterns
, Critical Literacies and Pedagogies, Online and Off
bjmonroe@wsu.edu

 WSU-Unit_Social-Badge

Camille Roman

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Multiethnic American Poetries and Cultures
, Women Writers
, Modernisms
, Writing and Research
, WWII-Cold War Cultures (Film and Poetry)
, Pacific Rim American Poetries; U.S. Immigration Poetries
, African & Caribbean, American Poetries
, American Censorship Culture (Literature, Music, and Visual Arts)
, 20th and 21st c. American Book Publishing Cultures
roman@wsu.edu

Alexander Hammond

Alexander Hammond

Associate Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 
American Literature (Colonial-Present)
, Humanities (Ancient World)
, Introduction to Literature
, Film and Literature
, American Fiction
, Class/Labor/Gender in American Literature
, American Drama
hammonda@wsu.edu