Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Department of English People

Suzanne Anderson

3-D Technologies Instructor
Research Interests: Digital Animation, Narration and Production
WSU-Pullman
andersons@wsu.edu

kristinbeckerKristin Becker

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Web Design
WSU Pullman
kristin.carlson@wsu.edu

Nancy BellNancy Bell

Professor
Research Interests:Applied Linguistics
, ESL
, TESOL
WSU-Pullman
nbell@wsu.edu

Ashley Boyd

Associate Professor
Research Interests: English Education, Critical Theory
WSU-Pullman
Ashley.boyd@wsu.edu

Todd ButlerTodd Butler

Professor and Associate Dean for Faculty, College of Arts & Sciences
Research Interests: 
17th Century Literature
, Law and Literature
, Political
Epistemology
, Marriage of Knowledge and Power in the Renaissance
WSU-Pullman
butlert@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imagePatricia Cady

Senior Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
, Professional and Technical Writing
WSU-Pullman
patty.cady@wsu.edu

Donna CampbellDonna Campbell

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Research Interests:
 Nineteenth-Century and Early Twentieth-Century American
Literature
 Realism, Regionalism, and Naturalism
-American Women’s Writing
-Teaching with Technology
WSU Pullman
campbelld@wsu.edu

Peter Chilson

Professor
Research Interests: Writing Workshops in Fiction and Literary Nonfiction
, African Literature
, Borderlands Studies
, Form and Theory in Writing Fiction and Literary Nonfiction
, Magazine Editing
, Environmental Issues Regarding Africa and the American West
WSU Pullman
pchilson@wsu.edu

Kim ChristensenKimberly Christen 

Professor and Director of Digital Technology and Culture
Research Interests: 

Collaborative Curation, Digital Archives and Platforms, the Ethics of Open Access, Intellectual Property Rights and Indigenous Traditional Knowledge, Digital repatriation
WSU Pullman
kachristen@wsu.edu

Elijah Coleman

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
, Writing and Rhetorical Conventions
,
Technical and Professional Writing
WSU Pullman
coleelij@wsu.edu

CozzaVanessaVanessa Cozza

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 
Rhetoric and Composition
WSU-Tri-Cities
vanessa.cozza@wsu.edu

Micheal DelahoydeMichael Delahoyde

Clinical Professor
Research Interests: Shakespeare
, Chaucer
, Medieval, Renaissance
, Humanities
WSU Pullman
delahoyd@wsu.edu

Robert EddyRobert Eddy

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Rhetoric and racism; Malcolm X and the renaming of the U.S.A.;
Islamophobia and rhetorics of the less than human; Robotic rhetorics and the politics of the post-human
WSU Pullman
eddyr@wsu.edu

Mike Edwards

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Rhetoric and composition, Digital Rhetorics, Technology Studies,
Economics and Composition
WSU Pullman
mike.edwards@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageKatherine Ericsson

Senior Instructor
Research Interests: Technical and Professional Writing
, Multimedia Authoring
WSU Global Campus
kericsson@wsu.edu

Brian Fry Editing PapersBryan Fry

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Creative Writing
, Editing and Publishing
,
Writing and Research Honors
WSU Pullman
bryanfry@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageRebecca Goodrich

Clinical Assistant Professor & Assistant Director of DTC
Research Interests: Literary Nonfiction, Personal Essay
,
Comics and Graphic Novels
, Children’s and Young Adult Literature
,
Digital Storytelling
WSU Pullman
rgoodrich@wsu.edu

tomie-gowdy-burkeTomie Gowdy-Burke

Instructor
Research Interests: The role of the educator in the learning experiences of students with cultural learning differences, learning styles;
constructivist classrooms, Universal Design for Instruction
WSU Pullman
tomie@wsu.edu

Ruth Gregory

Instructor, Digital Technology and Culture
Research Interests: film making, writing, new media, cultural studies
WSU Pullman
ruth.gregory@wsu.edu

Dene GrigarDene Grigar

Professor
Research Interests: Multimedia Narrative Performance and Installations
,
Ephemeral Writing and Technologies
, Electronic Literature
WSU Vancouver
dgrigar@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageMegan Hall

Instructor
WSU Pullman
megan.hall@wsu.edu

William Hamlin

Professor
Research Interests: Shakespeare
, English and Continental Literature, 1500-1700
-Renaissance Drama
, Montaigne
-Histories of Early Modern Philosophy and Religion
WSU Pullman
whamlin@wsu.edu

Michael Hanly

Professor
Research Interests: Medieval Literature and Culture
, Humanities
, Textual Editing
,
Paleography
, Graduate Research
WSU Pullman
hanly@wsu.edu

Jon Hegglund

Associate Professor
Research Interests: modernist and contemporary narrative, cognitive and rhetorical narratology, materialist ecocriticism, posthumanism, Anthropocene narrative, new media studies
WSU Pullman
hegglund@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageAmy Heile

Instructor

Research Interests: Rhetoric and composition, multimodality, literacy studies, and alternative learning environments.
WSU Pullman
amy.heile@wsu.edu

Desiree Hellegers

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Environmental Justice Activism, Ecocriticism (Contemporary American Literature, and 17th Century British), Poverty and Inequality, Oral History, and Social Movements
WSU Vancouver
desiree.hellegers@wsu.edu

Collin Hughes

Senior Instructor
Collin Hughes is beginning a third decade of teaching courses at Washington State University. Currently Hughes teaches English 301, Writing and Rhetoric, online. His areas of interest and expertise have migrated solely to online education instruction; he has developed and taught a variety of online courses: college argument, college composition, humanities, Ancient Literature, American and British Literature, global mythology, Introduction to Literature, and literature and ideas.  Hughes was a finalist in the student-nominated WSU online Instructor of the year in 2017.
WSU Pullman
hughesc@wsu.edu

leannhunterLeeann Hunter

Clinical Associate Professor & Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests:
WSU Pullman
leeann.hunter@wsu.edu

Matthew L. Jockers.Matthew Jockers

Professor and Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Research Interests: Text mining; stylometrics; Irish and Irish-American literature of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
WSU Pullman
matthew.jockers@wsu.edu

nora_kusterNora Kuster

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 20th and 21st Century British Literature, Representations of Nature and the Environment in Literature, Postcolonial Anglophone Literature, Theory and History of the Novel.
WSU Global Campus
nora.kuster@wsu.edu

Debbie Lee

Regents Professor & Assistant Director of the Visiting Writer Series
Research Interests: Creative Writing, Environmental Humanities, Oral History, Wilderness Studies, Arctic Studies, Literature of the American West, 18th and 19th-century British Literature, History of Science, Paper and Printmaking
WSU Pullman
deblee@wsu.edu

Buddy LevyBuddy Levy

Clinical Professor
Research Interests: Technical & Professional Writing
, Creative Writing, All Genres
, American Indian Literature
, Adventure/Lifestyle/Journalism
WSU Pullman

llevy@wsu.edu

Thabiti LewisThabiti Lewis

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 20th-Century African American Literature
, Toni Cade Bambara
, Critical Race Theory
, Sport Culture
,
Black Masculinity Studies
WSU Vancouver
thabiti@wsu.edu

English Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Technical and Professional Writing, and Independent Publishing and Editorial Theory
WSU Vancouver
(360) 546-9488

Jennifer Lodine-Chaffey

Instructor
Research Interests: Renaissance Drama, early modern engagements with mortality, Shakespeare, 16th and 17th century literature, John Donne
WSU Tri-Cities
j.lodine-chaffey@wsu.edu

 

David Martin

Instructor
WSU Pullman
drmartin@wsu.edu

Michael Mays

Professor and Director of Hanford History Project
Research Interests: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Irish and English Literature; Critical Theory; Post War American Culture
WSU Tri-cities

Kirk McauleyKirk McAuley

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests: Eighteenth-Century Studies, Early American and British Literature and Culture (Including Poetry and Non-Fiction Prose) to 1900
, Transatlantic Studies
, Print Culture
, Travel and Empire Writing
, Gender
, Environmental Criticism
WSU Pullman
lmcauley@wsu.edu

Cameron McGill

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Creative Writing, Editing and Publishing
WSU Pullman
cameron.mcgill@wsu.edu

Pavithra Narayanan

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Film
, Globalization
, Gender Issues, Political Economy
, South Asian Feminism; Post colonial Literature
, Documentary Films
WSU Vancouver
pavithra@wsu.edu

Melissa Nicolas

WSU Cougar shield imageMelissa Nicolas

Associate Professor
Director of Composition

Research Interests: WPA studies, feminist rhetoric(s), disability studies, institutional ethnography, and the history of composition
WSU Pullman
melissa.nicolas@wsu.edu

Aaron Oforlea

Associate Professor
Research Interests: African American Literature
,
20th-Century American Literature
, African American Intellectual Traditions and Literary Theory
, African American Folklore
, African American Rhetoric
, Literacy Studies
WSU Pullman
aoforlea@wsu.edu

Wendy OlsonWendy Olson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Basic Writing
, Critical Literacy
, Political Economy
, History and Theory of Composition
, History and Theory of Rhetoric
WSU Vancouver
wmolson@wsu.edu

Leonard Orr

Professor
Research Interests: 
19th- & 20th-Century British, Irish, and American Literature, Critical Theory and History of Criticism
-Modernism
, Representations of the Holocaust
, Postcolonial and Literature of Exile
, Creative Writing: Poetry
WSU Vancouver
orr@wsu.edu

Assistant Professor, Director of Technical and Professional Writing

Research Interests: Human subjects research in Writing Studies; technical and professional communication manifested in public policy implementation, institutional infrastructures, and program design and assessment
WSU Vancouver
j.hillen@wsu.edu

annaplemonsheadshotAnna Plemons

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Decolonial and Indigenous Methodologies, Retention and Persistence in Higher Education, Prison Writing Programs, Rhetoric and Composition, Digital Studies
WSU Tri-Cities
aplemons@wsu.edu

Potts 2016Donna Potts

Professor and Chair
Research Interests: Irish Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Poetry, Biography, Ecocriticism, Trauma Theory, Modern and Contemporary Literature, Women’s Writing, History of the English Language, Sexual Assault in Academia, Personal Essay
WSU Pullman
donna.potts@wsu.edu

Laura Powers

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition and Rhetoric, Research Writing, Technical and Professional Writing, Humanities: Mythology, Literature and Reading. Creative Writing.
WSU Pullman
laura.powers@wsu.edu

Kandy S. Robertson

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Writing Programs
Research Interests: Writing and Research
, Introduction to English Studies
WSU Vancouver
kandy-robertson@wsu.edu

Susan Ross

Professor
Research Interests: Journalism
, International Mass Media
, Law
, Public Policy
-Economics
, Cultural Studies
, Social Movements
, Peace Studies
WSU Pullman
suross@wsu.edu

Linda Russo

Clinical Associate Professor
Research Interests: Ecopoetics, Environmental Humanities, Literary Histories, Materialities, and Geographies
WSU Pullman
lrusso@wsu.edu

Rachel Sanchez

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU Pullman
rachel_sanchez@wsu.edu

Leslie Jo Sena

Instructor

WSU Pullman
senal@wsu.edu

Nishant Shahani

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Queer Theory, LGBT Studies, Transnational Sexualities (with a focus on India), political economy of AIDS, Globalization
WSU Pullman
nshahani3@wsu.edu

Carol Siegel Carol Siegel

Professor
Research Interests: Representation of Sexuality in Literature and Film
, Contemporary Youth Cultures
, Changes in the Discourses of Feminism
, Theories of Foucault, Deleuze & Other Theorists of Sexuality & Gender
, Asian American Literature
WSU Vancouver
siegel@wsu.edu

Elizabeth Siler Elizabeth Siler

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: English as a Second Language
, Second Language Reading
,
Studies on Paraphrase and Plagiarism
WSU Pullman
mejia@wsu.edu

Julie Staggers

Associate Professor
WSU Pullman
julie.staggers@wsu.edu

Pamela Thoma

Associate Professor and Director of Women’s Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Research Interests: Asian American Literature and Studies, Twentieth and Twenty-First Century Women’s Literature, Feminist Media Studies, Health Humanities, Feminist and Queer Theory, Graphic Narrative, and Neoliberalism
WSU Pullman
pthoma@wsu.edu

Victor VillanuevaVictor Villanueva

Regents Professor and Director of the Writing Program
Research Interests: Classical and Contemporary Rhetoric
, Rhetoric and Political Economy
, Rhetoric and Racism
, Pre-Columbian Indigenous Rhetorics
, Composition Theory
WSU Pullman
victorv@wsu.edu

katewattsKate Watts

Senior Instructor
Assistant Director of Composition

Research Interests: Composition
WSU Pullman
kate.watts@wsu.edu

Lauren Westerfield

Instructor

Research Interests: Composition, Creative Writing (Creative Nonfiction, Poetry, Lyric Essay, Hybrid/Cross-Genre), Women’s Literature, Editing and Publishing.
WSU Pullman
lauren.westerfield@wsu.edu

Roger Whitson Roger Whitson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 19th C British Literature, esp. William Blake
, Digital Humanities
, Digital and Hybrid Pedagogy
, Steampunk
, Comics and Graphic Novels
, Speculative Realism and Object, Oriented Ontology
, Media History and Archaeology
WSU Pullman
roger.whitson@wsu.edu

Patricia Wilde

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Feminist Rhetorics, History and Historiography, Archival Research, and Composition Studies
WSU Vancouver

Emeritus

Paul Brians

Professor Emeritus
paulbrians@gmail.com

 

 

Joan BurbickJoan Burbick

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 
American literature and culture (especially late 19th and 20th century)
, Cultural theory
, Popular Culture
burbick@wsu.edu

Bill CondonBill Condon

Professor
Research Interests: Writing Assessment
, Composition Pedagogy
, World Civilizations
,
19th Century British Literature
, Computers and Writing
WSU Pullman
bcondon@wsu.edu

Wendy Dasler Johnson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: ‘Other’ Rhetorics
, History of Rhetoric
, American Literature before 1900
, Rhetorics of the Disciplines
, Sacred Texts and Cultures of World Religions
, Writing
, American Indian Literatures
, Women Studies
-Poetry
WSU Vancouver
wjohnson1@wsu.edu

Patricia Ericsson

Associate Professor and Director of Composition
Research Interests: Digital Rhetorics
, Composition Studies
, Digital Technology and Culture
, Critical Technology Studies
, Technical Communication
, Rhetorics of Sustainability
WSU Pullman
ericsson@wsu.edu

Lynn Gordon

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Linguistics
, English Grammar
, History of English
,
Syntax
, Syntax and Morphology of Native American Languages
WSU Pullman
gordonl@wsu.edu

Alexander HammondAlexander Hammond

Associate Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 
American Literature (Colonial-Present)
, Humanities (Ancient World)
, Introduction to Literature
, Film and Literature
, American Fiction
, Class/Labor/Gender in American Literature
, American Drama
hammonda@wsu.edu

George Kennedy George Kennedy

Professor Emeritus:
Research Interests: Technical Communication
, Rhetoric/Composition
, 19th century British fiction (Victorians)
, Early 20th Century British (Edwardians and Georgians)
gkennedy@wsu.edu

Alex Kuo Alex Kuo

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Contemporary Poetry
, Creative Writing (All Genres)
, Native American Literature; American West Literature
alexkuo@wsu.edu

Richard Law Richard Law

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 20th-Century American Literature
, Literature of the American South
rlaw@wsu.edu

Barbara MonroeBarbara Monroe

Associate Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Indigenous Rhetoric of the Plateau Indians
, Cultural and Class Differences in Rhetoric, Learning Styles, Interactive Patterns
, Critical Literacies and Pedagogies, online and off
bjmonroe@wsu.edu

TV ReedT.V. Reed

Professor
Research Interests: Contemporary U.S.
 Literary Theory
, Popular Culture
, Digital Diversity
, Multiethnic Contemporary American Literature
, Ecocriticism
WSU Pullman
reedtv@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageCamille Roman

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Multiethnic American Poetries and Cultures
,
Women Writers
, Modernisms
, Writing and Research
, WWII-Cold War Cultures (Film and Poetry)
, Pacific Rim American Poetries; U.S. Immigration Poetries
, African & Caribbean, American Poetries
, American Censorship Culture (Literature, Music, and Visual Arts)
,
20th- and 21st-c. American Book Publishing Cultures
roman@wsu.edu