Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Department of English People

Suzanne Anderson

3-D Technologies Instructor
Research Interests: Digital Animation, Narration and Production
WSU-Pullman
andersons@wsu.edu

kristinbeckerKristin Becker

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Web Design
WSU Pullman
kristin.carlson@wsu.edu

Nancy BellNancy Bell

Professor
Research Interests:Applied Linguistics
, ESL
, TESOL
WSU-Pullman
nbell@wsu.edu

Ashley Boyd

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: English Education, Critical Theory
WSU-Pullman
Ashley.boyd@wsu.edu

Kim burwickKimberly Burwick

Clinical Assistant Professor
and Interim Director of the Visiting Writer Series

Research Interests: 
Humanities
, Creative Writing
WSU-Pullman
kaburwick@wsu.edu

Todd ButlerTodd Butler

Associate Professor and Chair
Research Interests: 
17th Century Literature
, Law and Literature
, Political
Epistemology
, Marriage of Knowledge and Power in the Renaissance
WSU-Pullman
butlert@wsu.edu

Beth Buyserie

Clinical Assistant Professor and Interim Director of Composition
Research Interests: Composition, Writing Program Administration, Cultural Studies in Composition, Critical Pedagogies, Queer Rhetorics, English Education
WSU Pullman
bbuyserie@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imagePatricia Cady

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
, Professional and Technical Writing
WSU-Pullman
patty.cady@wsu.edu

Donna CampbellDonna Campbell

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Research Interests:
 Nineteenth-Century and Early Twentieth-Century American
Literature
 Realism, Regionalism, and Naturalism
-American Women’s Writing
-Teaching with Technology
WSU Pullman
campbelld@wsu.edu

Peter ChilsonPeter Chilson

Professor
Research Interests: Writing Workshops in Fiction and Literary Nonfiction
, African Literature
, Borderlands Studies
, Form and Theory in Writing Fiction and Literary Nonfiction
, Magazine Editing
, Environmental Issues Regarding Africa and the American West
WSU Pullman
pchilson@wsu.edu

Kim ChristensenKimberly Christen 

Professor and Director of Digital Technology and Culture
Research Interests: 

Collaborative Curation, Digital Archives and Platforms, the Ethics of Open Access, Intellectual Property Rights and Indigenous Traditional Knowledge, Digital repatriation
WSU Pullman
kachristen@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageElijah Coleman

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
, Writing and Rhetorical Conventions
,
Technical and Professional Writing
WSU Pullman
coleelij@wsu.edu

CozzaVanessaVanessa Cozza

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 
Rhetoric and Composition
WSU-Tri-Cities
vanessa.cozza@tricity.wsu.edu

Micheal DelahoydeMichael Delahoyde

Clinical Professor
Research Interests: Shakespeare
, Chaucer
, Medieval, Renaissance
, Humanities
WSU Pullman
delahoyd@wsu.edu

Robert EddyRobert Eddy

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Rhetoric and racism; Malcolm X and the renaming of the U.S.A.;
Islamophobia and rhetorics of the less than human; Robotic rhetorics and the politics of the post-human
WSU Pullman
eddyr@wsu.edu

mikeedawrsMike Edwards

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Rhetoric and composition, Digital Rhetorics, Technology Studies,
Economics and Composition
WSU Pullman
mike.edwards@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageKatherine Ericsson

Senior Instructor
Research Interests: Technical and Professional Writing
, Multimedia Authoring
WSU Global Campus
kericsson@wsu.edu

Brian Fry Editing PapersBryan Fry

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Creative Writing
, Editing and Publishing
,
Writing and Research Honors
WSU Pullman
bryanfry@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageRebecca Goodrich

Clinical Assistant Professor & Assistant Director of DTC
Research Interests: Literary Nonfiction, Personal Essay
,
Comics and Graphic Novels
, Children’s and Young Adult Literature
,
Digital Storytelling
WSU Pullman
rgoodrich@wsu.edu

tomie-gowdy-burkeTomie Gowdy-Burke

Instructor
Research Interests: The role of the educator in the learning experiences of students with cultural learning differences, learning styles;
constructivist classrooms, Universal Design for Instruction
WSU Pullman
tomie@wsu.edu

Ruth Gregory

Instructor, Digital Technology and Culture
Research Interests: film making, writing, new media, cultural studies
WSU Pullman
ruth.gregory@wsu.edu

Dene GrigarDene Grigar

Professor
Research Interests: Multimedia Narrative Performance and Installations
,
Ephemeral Writing and Technologies
, Electronic Literature
WSU Vancouver
dgrigar@vancouver.wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageMegan Hall

Instructor
WSU Pullman
megan.hall@wsu.edu

William Hamlin

Professor
Research Interests: Shakespeare
, English and Continental Literature, 1500-1700
-Renaissance Drama
, Montaigne
-Histories of Early Modern Philosophy and Religion
WSU Pullman
whamlin@wsu.edu

Michael Hanly

Professor
Research Interests: Medieval Literature and Culture
, Humanities
, Textual Editing
,
Paleography
, Graduate Research
WSU Pullman
hanly@wsu.edu

Jon HegglundJon Hegglund

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 20th Century British Literature
, Film Studies
, Literary Theory
,
Postcolonial Literature
WSU Pullman
hegglund@wsu.edu

Desiree Hellegers

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Environmental Justice Activism, Ecocriticism (Contemporary American Literature, and 17th Century British), Poverty and Inequality, Oral History, and Social Movements
WSU Vancouver
desiree.hellegers@wsu.edu

leannhunterLeeann Hunter

Clinical Assistant Professor & Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests:
WSU Pullman
leeann.hunter@wsu.edu

Matthew L. Jockers.Matthew Jockers

Professor and Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Research Interests: Text mining; stylometrics; Irish and Irish-American literature of the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
WSU-Pullman
matthew.jockers@wsu.edu

Lisa Johnson-Shull

Writing Center Director/Writing Program Co-Director/Instructor
Research Interests: Writing Center Theory and Practice
, Writing Program Administration
, Writing Pedagogy and Assessment
WSU Pullman
lisaj@wsu.edu

nora_kusterNora Kuster

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: 20th and 21st Century British Literature, Representations of Nature and the Environment in Literature, Postcolonial Anglophone Literature, Theory and History of the Novel.
WSU Tri-Cities
CIC 125K
nora.kuster@wsu.edu

Debbie LeeDebbie Lee

Regents Professor & Director of the Visiting Writer Series
Research Interests: Creative Writing (Creative Nonfiction, Travel Writing, and Public Writing), Literature and Culture of the American West, Ecocriticism and Nature Writing, Oral History, 18th and 19th-Century British Literature
, Art History and Printmaking
, British Social History (Representations of Single Mothers, Prostitutes, and Poor Women)
, History of Science
, Transatlantic Issues (Slavery, Hybridity)
.
WSU Pullman
deblee@wsu.edu

Buddy LevyBuddy Levy

Clinical Professor
Research Interests: Technical & Professional Writing
, Creative Writing, All Genres
, American Indian Literature
, Adventure/Lifestyle/Journalism
WSU Pullman
buddy@buddylevy.com

Thabiti LewisThabiti Lewis

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 20th-Century African American Literature
, Toni Cade Bambara
, Critical Race Theory
, Sport Culture
,
Black Masculinity Studies
WSU Vancouver
thabiti@vancouver.wsu.edu

English Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Technical and Professional Writing, and Independent Publishing and Editorial Theory
WSU Vancouver
(360) 546-9488

David Martin

Instructor
WSU Pullman
drmartin@wsu.edu

Michael Mays

Director, Hanford History Project
Research Interests: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Irish and English Literature; Critical Theory; Post War American Culture
WSU Tri-cities

Kirk McauleyKirk McAuley

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Research Interests: Eighteenth-Century Studies, Early American and British Literature and Culture (Including Poetry and Non-Fiction Prose) to 1900
, Transatlantic Studies
, Print Culture
, Travel and Empire Writing
, Gender
, Environmental Criticism
WSU Pullman
lmcauley@wsu.edu

Cameron McGill

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition, Creative Writing, Editing and Publishing

Pavithra Narayanan

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Film
, Globalization
, Gender Issues, Political Economy
, South Asian Feminism; Post colonial Literature
, Documentary Films
WSU Vancouver
pavithra@vancouver.wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageAaron Oforlea

Associate Professor
Research Interests: African American Literature
,
20th-Century American Literature
, African American Intellectual Traditions and Literary Theory
, African American Folklore
, African American Rhetoric
, Literacy Studies
WSU Pullman
aoforlea@ad.wsu.edu

Wendy OlsonWendy Olson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Basic Writing
, Critical Literacy
, Political Economy
, History and Theory of Composition
, History and Theory of Rhetoric
WSU Vancouver
wmolson@vancouver.wsu.edu

Leonard Orr

Professor
Research Interests: 
19th- & 20th-Century British, Irish, and American Literature, Critical Theory and History of Criticism
-Modernism
, Representations of the Holocaust
, Postcolonial and Literature of Exile
, Creative Writing: Poetry
WSU Vancouver
orr@vancouver.wsu.edu

Assistant Professor, Director of Technical and Professional Writing

Research Interests: Human subjects research in Writing Studies; technical and professional communication manifested in public policy implementation, institutional infrastructures, and program design and assessment
WSU Vancouver
j.hillen@wsu.edu

annaplemonsheadshotAnna Plemons

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Decolonial and Indigenous Methodologies, Retention and Persistence in Higher Education, Prison Writing Programs, Rhetoric and Composition, Digital Studies
WSU Pullman
aplemons@wsu.edu

Potts 2016Donna Potts

Professor
Research Interests: Irish Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Poetry, Biography, Ecocriticism, Trauma Theory, Modern and Contemporary Literature, Women’s Writing, History of the English Language, Sexual Assault in Academia, Personal Essay
WSU Pullman
donnal.potts@gmail.com

WSU Cougar shield imageLaura Powers

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU Pullman
laura.powers@wsu.edu

Kandy S. Robertson

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Writing Programs
Research Interests: Writing and Research
, Introduction to English Studies
WSU Vancouver
kandy_robertson@vancouver.wsu.edu

Susan Ross Susan Ross

Professor
Research Interests: Journalism
, International Mass Media
, Law
, Public Policy
-Economics
, Cultural Studies
, Social Movements
, Peace Studies
WSU Pullman
suross@wsu.edu

Linda RussoLinda Russo

Clinical Associate Professor
Research Interests: Ecopoetics, Environmental Humanities, Literary Histories, Materialities, and Geographies
WSU Pullman
lrusso@wsu.edu

Rachel Sanchez

Instructor
Research Interests: Composition
WSU Pullman
rachel_sanchez@wsu.edu

Carol Siegel Carol Siegel

Professor
Research Interests: Representation of Sexuality in Literature and Film
, Contemporary Youth Cultures
, Changes in the Discourses of Feminism
, Theories of Foucault, Deleuze & Other Theorists of Sexuality & Gender
, Asian American Literature
WSU Vancouver
siegel@vancouver.wsu.edu

Elizabeth Siler Elizabeth Siler

Clinical Assistant Professor
Research Interests: English as a Second Language
, Second Language Reading
,
Studies on Paraphrase and Plagiarism
WSU Pullman
elizabethsiler@gmail.com

Samantha Solomon

Blackburn Postdoc
Research Interests: First World War Literature, Modern British Literature, Modernisms,Theories of Narrative, Literary Trauma Theory
samantha.solomon@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageJulie Staggers

Associate Professor
WSU Pullman
julie.staggers@wsu.edu

Victor VillanuevaVictor Villanueva

Regents Professor and Director of the Writing Program
Research Interests: Classical and Contemporary Rhetoric
, Rhetoric and Political Economy
, Rhetoric and Racism
, Pre-Columbian Indigenous Rhetorics
, Composition Theory
WSU Pullman
victorv@wsu.edu

katewattsKate Watts

Interim Assistant Director of Composition
Research Interests: Composition
WSU Pullman
kate.watts@wsu.edu

Roger Whitson Roger Whitson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: 19th C British Literature, esp. William Blake
, Digital Humanities
, Digital and Hybrid Pedagogy
, Steampunk
, Comics and Graphic Novels
, Speculative Realism and Object, Oriented Ontology
, Media History and Archaeology
WSU Pullman
roger.whitson@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageNathanael Whitworth

Instructor
WSU Pullman
nathanael.whitworth@wsu.edu

Patricia Wilde

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Feminist Rhetorics, History and Historiography, Archival Research, and Composition Studies
WSU Vancouver

Emeritus

Joan BurbickJoan Burbick

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 
American literature and culture (especially late 19th and 20th century)
, Cultural theory
, Popular Culture
burbick@wsu.edu

Bill CondonBill Condon

Professor
Research Interests: Writing Assessment
, Composition Pedagogy
, World Civilizations
,
19th Century British Literature
, Computers and Writing
WSU Pullman
bcondon@wsu.edu

Wendy Dasler Johnson

Associate Professor
Research Interests: ‘Other’ Rhetorics
, History of Rhetoric
, American Literature before 1900
, Rhetorics of the Disciplines
, Sacred Texts and Cultures of World Religions
, Writing
, American Indian Literatures
, Women Studies
-Poetry
WSU Vancouver
wjohnson1@vancouver.wsu.edu

Patricia Ericsson

Associate Professor and Director of Composition
Research Interests: Digital Rhetorics
, Composition Studies
, Digital Technology and Culture
, Critical Technology Studies
, Technical Communication
, Rhetorics of Sustainability
WSU Pullman
ericsson@wsu.edu

Lynn Gordon

Associate Professor
Research Interests: Linguistics
, English Grammar
, History of English
,
Syntax
, Syntax and Morphology of Native American Languages
WSU Pullman
gordonl@wsu.edu

Alexander HammondAlexander Hammond

Associate Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 
American Literature (Colonial-Present)
, Humanities (Ancient World)
, Introduction to Literature
, Film and Literature
, American Fiction
, Class/Labor/Gender in American Literature
, American Drama
hammonda@wsu.edu

George Kennedy George Kennedy

Professor Emeritus:
Research Interests: Technical Communication
, Rhetoric/Composition
, 19th century British fiction (Victorians)
, Early 20th Century British (Edwardians and Georgians)
gkennedy@wsu.edu

Alex Kuo Alex Kuo

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Contemporary Poetry
, Creative Writing (All Genres)
, Native American Literature; American West Literature
alexkuo@wsu.edu

Richard Law Richard Law

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: 20th-Century American Literature
, Literature of the American South
rlaw@wsu.edu

Barbara MonroeBarbara Monroe

Associate Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Indigenous Rhetoric of the Plateau Indians
, Cultural and Class Differences in Rhetoric, Learning Styles, Interactive Patterns
, Critical Literacies and Pedagogies, online and off
bjmonroe@wsu.edu

TV ReedT.V. Reed

Professor
Research Interests: Contemporary U.S.
 Literary Theory
, Popular Culture
, Digital Diversity
, Multiethnic Contemporary American Literature
, Ecocriticism
WSU Pullman
reedtv@wsu.edu

WSU Cougar shield imageCamille Roman

Professor Emeritus
Research Interests: Multiethnic American Poetries and Cultures
,
Women Writers
, Modernisms
, Writing and Research
, WWII-Cold War Cultures (Film and Poetry)
, Pacific Rim American Poetries; U.S. Immigration Poetries
, African & Caribbean, American Poetries
, American Censorship Culture (Literature, Music, and Visual Arts)
,
20th- and 21st-c. American Book Publishing Cultures
roman@wsu.edu