Department of English Visiting Writer Series

Visiting Writer Series Spring 2016

Sean Thomas Dougherty

Thursday, April 21
5:00 p.m., Museum of Art

Sean Thomas Dougherty

Perhaps best known for his live performances, Sean Dougherty has been called a “master of momentum.” His poems reflect the influences of his working class, interracial upbringing. He has written several books of poetry or mixed-genre literature, including Scything Grace, All I Ask for Is Longing: New and Selected Poems 1994-2014, and Broken Hallelujahs. Dougherty’s poems have appeared in multiple journals and anthologies, and he has edited several critical collections of poetry as well. He has performed his work across the U.S. and Europe in venues such as the Chicago Lollapalooza Music Festival and the London Poetry Café, as well as hundreds of universities.

This event is co-sponsored by the Common Reading Program and Lewis and Clark State College.



The WSU Visiting Writer Series brings noted poets and writers of fiction and nonfiction to campus for creative readings, class visits, workshops, and collaborative exchanges across intellectual and artistic disciplines.

For more information about the series, please contact Debbie Lee.
Visiting Writers Series Logo



Previous Visiting Writers:

Kevin Willmott

Justin Torres

Brenda Hillman

Rick Bass

William Cronon

W. Scott Olson

Rebecca Brown

Cecil Giscombe

Kathleen Flenniken

David Gates

Eileen Myles

Afaa Michael Weaver

Ilya Kaminsky

Donald Revell

Claudia Keelan

Kevin Goodan

Rolf Potts

David Huddle

Galway Kinnell

Anne Waldman

Hoa Nguyen

Kate Greenstreet

Kaia Sand

Marilyn Chin

Xi Chuan

Rusty Morrison

Maryrose Larkin

Willis Barnstone

Ceiridwen Terrill

Ted Tremper

Dinah Lenney

Marcia Parlow

Terry Tempest Williams

Brooke Williams